img_1784My last day in London was one of the best. I was on no particular time frame. I had tea scheduled at 12:30 PM at One Aldwych Hotel  – I highly recommend this! It was the first thing I had planned when I booked my trip. I woke up around 9 am and headed out towards Westminster Abbey. During one of my other tours, the guide had mentioned the lines could get long. I also learned while waiting in said line, that if you booked your tickets online, you could skip the line – so, that’s something you might want to look into. Westminster was absolutely amazing, awe-inspiring and humbling. While my knowledge of the Tudors is mostly thanks to Showtime, it is still amazing to walk by the tombs of these past kings and queens. I was especially floored to view Charles Darwin and Newton’s memorials. I was a good girl and didn’t take pictures, but I wish I had. You’re not allowed to.

 

After Westminster, I took a few shots of the clock tower and parliament, and headed back to my hotel to get ready for tea. Tea was … amazing. The level of service provided was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. I felt completely spoiled, which for someone who actually is completely spoiled, that’s saying a lot. The theme of the tea was ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’. The dessert course was extravagant. My favorite was the edible chocolate golden goose egg filled with vanilla cheesecake filling, topped with mango puree. The oddest bit was the rhubarb flavored cotton candy. o_O

After tea, I walked along the river Thames for a bit taking pictures and thinking and processing the fact that I had just completed a vacation in a foreign country by myself without an anxiety attack. In fact, I feel as if I flourished in London.

I headed back to my hotel and took a quick power nap. I had scheduled a haunted London tour for 7:30 PM.

The tour was …. OK. I wouldn’t recommend it. We traced the steps of Jack the Ripper which was cool. We saw the memorial for William Wallace. The most exciting part of the trip for me was seeing the roof and call box at St. Bart’s where Sherlock was filmed.

 

I headed home after the tour to finish packing. I had to get up early to catch my flight home. I truly cannot wait to go back to London. I feel like it’s a problem because there are other places I’d like to visit, but I’d be perfectly content visiting London again.

 

